Tags

, , ,

  Yesterday was a burn day for us in Big Sur. It is a chance to get rid of old tree limbs and general yard waste. I was fascinated watching the fire burn through the twigs, leaves and branches. It was like watching a race to devour. I ended up taking 99 photos of the burn. It was hard to choose one for this post. I’m going to sneak in a few! In the first I like how the fire is rushing through the dead wood. It feels as though the fire – personified, is greedily racing to the next serving. I like the shapes in the second photos. What do you see in it? The third photo, (I know this sounds morbid) represents the passage to hell. It is as though a tired individual must pass through a tunnel of fire before emerging into the darkness beyond. What a thought for the day! Sorry. I’m not usually dark. Looking through the flames

